Tourist Information Dublin

Irish Currency & Money

The Euro has been the currency in circulation in Ireland since the beginning of 2002. It replaced The Irish pound ("punt Éireannach" in Irish).

Be aware though that in the 6 counties of Northern Ireland (Fermanagh, Armagh, Tyrone, Derry, Antrim and Down), sterling (GBP) is the currency used. Although some stores in the north may accept Euros, you may not get a favourable exchange rate. GBP may be accepted in some stores close to the border of Northern Ireland but is not generally accepted in Dublin or the rest of the Republic of Ireland.

Euro Currency Converter

The Euro is subdivided into 100 cents.
Coins are as follows; 1c, 2c, 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, €1, €2.

The following banknotes are available:
€5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200, €500

The Euro (€) is the official currency of the Euro Zone and so the Euros you buy for use in Ireland can also be used in many countries across Europe including France, Spain, Germany, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Slovakia and Slovenia. The Euro is not used in the United Kingdom.

Where to buy Euros

You can buy Euros in ATM machines which are available in Dublin airport and are easy to find throughout the city. You can also buy Euros in banks or currency exchange bureaux.

Most credit cards and debit cards are accepted in Dublin shops and restaurants, but do call your bank and inform them that you will be travelling, as if you don't, the bank may consider your purchases abroad fraudulent and will block them from going through until you can talk to customer service.

The Central Bank of Ireland is located at:
Central Bank of Ireland
Dame Street
Dublin 2

Tel: +353 1 224 6000
Fax: +353 1 671 6561